Bridesmaid Pre-nuptial Agreement ?

After reading an article in Tuesdays Daily Record by Laura Coventry entitled “Maids of Dishonour”, I began to wonder what you would think if you were asked to sign a prenuptial contract because you have been asked to be a Bridesmaid?

bridesmaids.jpgAccording to the Record:-

“A recent survey revealed that one in 5 brides-to-be would be willing to ask their Bridesmaids to sign a contractual agreement before they do their duty.”

“48% admitted that if any one of their Bridesmaids breached any of the contract clauses, then they would sack them from their impending role or demote them to an ordinary guest.”

Personally, I always thought that having your best friend, sister or female soon to be in-law as a Bridesmaid was all about having fun on the day, enjoying their company and most of all the fact that they are your friends. Being with people that cared about you, and you about them. Not how they looked, or complimented your Wedding theme or style.

The Bridesmaid’s agreement featured in “You and Your Wedding” contains clauses such as:-

  • I will not gain more than 7lbs between now and the Wedding.
  • I will agree to wear a dress of the Bride’s choosing, regardless of my own opinions about style or colour.
  • I will not remove any item of my Bridesmaid outfit during the reception.
  • I will not intentionally fall pregnant before the Wedding.

you can download the contract from the You and Your Wedding websiteColette Harris, Editor states,

“Planning Weddings can be a stressful time for Brides, and management issues with bridesmaids can ruin the anticipation and the big day.”

She continues,

“While our contract is meant to be tongue-in-cheek, the survey demonstrates that issues with bridesmaids are of concern to many of our readers.”

How far would you go to get the perfect Wedding if you were the Bride? What concerns me is that surely even suggesting to your family and friends to sign a contract, would add to the stress of organising your Wedding? If it is that imperative to have the “perfect Bridesmaids”, hire some plastic, fantastic, surreal, “Stepford Wives” styled clones for the day!

Maybe sharing some of the tasks with your partner could help alleviate the stress of organising your Wedding, perhaps getting the men involved would help, but then do we all trust our men when it comes to choosing flowers, tableware, catering or the likes? It is not easy giving someone else control over aspects of your Wedding Day but sometimes necessary. Surely if you can trust a florist or caterer to do their job you can trust your soon-to-be husband or brother in law to help out?

A Wedding is a very personal thing and I can understand why it is stressful – I organised my own, but unlike most, my design conscious husband was delighted to comment on everything, from invitations to tableware to guests (and it did cross my mind at times, that I wished he would be like most men and just turn up on the day!) But I soon realised he was on the right wavelength the day I told him I had seen the Wedding dress I wanted on the internet. He incidentally, (while at work) had bought me a copy of the Scottish Wedding Directory and had said he had seen a dress in it he thought I would look beautiful in. When he showed me the article, later that day it was exactly the same dress I had viewed on the internet – spooky!

After all is said and done, there are lots of choices to be made when organising your big day, but surely the day doesn’t have to be set in stone and ruled by a drill sergeant? I would think that signing contracts and fulfilling clauses would put a damper on the trips with your Bridesmaids to the beauty salon, visiting the dress maker and sampling the catering. Then again it may or may not be a clause in their contract!

You can download the Bridesmaids Contract from the You and Your Wedding website at http://www.youandyourwedding.co.uk or by clicking the link above. (tw).

