What is art ?

Art [ahrt] – the quality, production, expression, or realm, according to aesthetic principles, of what is beautiful, appealing, or of more than ordinary significance.

Art [ahrt] – the class of objects subject to aesthetic criteria; works of art collectively, as paintings, sculptures, or drawings: a museum of art; an art collection.

Art [ahrt] – any field using the skills or techniques of art: advertising art; industrial art.

The word ‘art’ is as diverse as the meaning. What is art ? Is it something you do, something you learn, or something that you like more than another ?

Thinking about art in the sense of skill, has always been something I have wanted to develop. I began my journey at school, and was always happiest in the art room, or trawling through books from Impressionism to Pop Art. On leaving school, I decided to further my studies and gained qualifications in Graphic Design and a BA (Hons) in Design Management, with a long-term view of employment to gain experience and eventually starting my own business.

For a time, this decision took me away from the actual creative process of being involved in creating the art, and more towards the working forces behind it, in the digital world of design, print and copy. Is art something you like more than another ? Well, take art in the form of love, and in this digital print environment, I found someone more appealing than any other. He worked in the same office, and eventually became my husband – perhaps, art has a lot to answer for in my life ?

When my husband began working with an art publisher and photographer, supplying high quality Giclee Fine Art Prints and small products, such as mugs, greeting cards, calendars and posters, my plans and our life changed, incorporated new roles as parents, and new jobs. But the more we considered our future, the right thing to do was to start a business of our own.

Together, our combined knowledge of digital printing, design and creativity has led us to supply objects subject to aesthetic criteria on-line by Scottish artists such as Robert Kelsey and John Bathgate, and even I have begun to re-kindle my love for actually ‘doing’ the art, and getting ideas onto paper to make ready for cards, invitations and calendars.

So where am I now, with the meaning and diversity of art ? Collectively, for me, it is a very personal thing, my life is surrounded by art, it just depends which context I choose to use it in and live within.

I am Elaine, my husband is David. The aesthetic allure of art has been part of our lives for over 25 years, and culminates in our online gallery bayattic.com.

One thought on “What is art ?

  1. Pingback: The Art of Collecting Art « The Art of Collecting Art

Comments are closed.